In the year 1959 the Ötztaler nature camping was founded by the bricklayer Alfons Kuprian. He had an agreement with the farmers, so that he could use the fields as a campsite. At that time the main building was built, today it is called “Cafè Beim Ernst”. In 1967 Alfons died and his wife Sophie had to run the camping on her own – it wasn’t easy with 5 children. Later Armin, a son of Alfons continued the business.
Since 1986 the camping has had the name “Ötztaler Naturcamping” and with the new name came a new owner, Ernst Kuprian – a brother of Armin. Ernst Kuprian still owns the camping. In the following years it was continuously enlarged by the new owner. In 1989 the sanitary building was built and 3 years later every pitch got fittings for TV, gas, electricity, water and wastewater. In 2006 the main building was renovated, because it had burnt down.
Tradition until today
Ernst Kuprian runs the camping with his motto “where camping still is camping” successfully till today. He places great emphasis on tradition and a natural camping which fits into the surrounding environment.
In 2010 he built the mill and he offers a special experience for guests with that. In the future his son Simon is going to be more involved in running the camping, which he will take over in the next years.